Our Lady of Sorrows By : Quang Hoang. Significance The title, “Our Lady of Sorrows,” given to Mary focuses on the suffering and grief during the passion

  • Published on

  • View

  • Download

Embed Size (px)


  • Our Lady of SorrowsBy : Quang Hoang

  • SignificanceThe title, Our Lady of Sorrows, given to Mary focuses on the suffering and grief during the passion and death of Jesus.This feast is not limited to the passion and death event of Jesus rather, it compromised the seven dolors or seven sorrows.

  • Facts

    The seven dolors or seven sorrows were foretold by the Priest Simeon.

    Priest Simeon proclaimed This child (Jesus) is destined to be the downfall and the rise of many in Israel, a sign that will be opposed and you yourself shall be pierced with a sword so that the thoughts of many hearts may be laid bare.

  • FactsThese seven sorrows of Mary included the flight of the Holy Family into Egypt; the loss and finding of the child Jesus in the Temple; Mary's meeting of Jesus on His way to Calvary; Mary's standing at the foot of the cross when our Lord was crucified; her holding of Jesus when He was taken down from the cross; and then our Lord's burial. In all, Simeon said that a sword would pierce our Blessed Mothers heart was fulfilled in all these events

  • Bible PassageThe seven sorrows of Mary are in the bible, they are : First Sorrow of Mary - The prophecy of Simeon, Second Sorrow of Mary The flight into Egypt, Third Sorrow of Mary - The Loss of Jesus in the Temple, Fourth Sorrow of Mary - Mary meets Jesus on the way to the cross, Fifth Sorrow of Mary - Jesus Dies on the Cross, Sixth Sorrow of Mary - Mary receives the dead body of her son, Seventh Sorrow of Mary - Jesus is laid in the tomb

  • Works Citedhttp://www.sevensorrows.com/explanation.htmhttp://www.americancatholic.org/features/default.aspx?id=15http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/


View more >