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The Marketer’s Guide to Social ROIHow to implement an identity centric strategy that results in positive ROI, and formulas to prove it.
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ROI is Hard – This Guide Aims to Make it Easier
Proving social return on investment (Social ROI) is hard. There’s no question about it.
Thousands of marketers are faced with the challenge of demonstrating that social is worth its
piece of the marketing pie. However, many marketers fall short when it comes to proving that
their social investment was worth the effort or spend.
To help you navigate the path to true social ROI, this guide breaks down the process into a series
of achievable methods and provides relevant use cases and trackable metrics to help you
measure your marketing campaigns more accurately.
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Start with Defining Business Objectives
Here is a list of the most common business objectives that social can help you solve.
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Lift in…
o New customer
acquisition
o Referral traffic
o User-generated
content
o Engagement (time
spent on site or page
views)
o Repeat conversions
Improvement in…
o Marketing campaign
performance
o Organic search
rankings
o Brand exposure and
awareness
Discovery…
o Learning valuable
audience insights
o Pinpointing behaviors
that lead to more
revenue
What are your business objectives?
METHOD #1
Authenticate User Identity and Improve Conversions with Social Login
Why Social Login?
The most effective way to begin measuring social ROI is by integrating social login, which acts as
the first access point to a user’s identity. Social login lets users authenticate and log in to your
web properties using their existing social identities.
Essentially, social login is the gateway to social ROI -- it orchestrates data capture in a
permission-based, streamlined manner.
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We examined thousands of websites and mobile
applications offering social login and discovered
that social login increases user acquisition by an
average of 33 percent. Moreover, socially logged
in users view 66.7 percent more pages and
spend 56 percent more time on average
interacting with the site.
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Social Login:
Collect users’ first-party data
in a streamlined, secure
manner.
Registration System:
Authenticate user identities
and sign customers in via
traditional or social login.
Dynamic Database:
Store unlimited identity data
fields in a safe, cloud-based
database designed for
social.
Key Tools and TechnologyUse Case: Forbes Increases Registration Conversions
Forbes, one of the most influential sources of business and
technology news on the web, boosted its registrations and
conversions by integrating a connected consumer
management suite across its web properties.
Specifically, the news publication implemented social login
for an improved registration and sign-in experience, along
with a series of social plugins to facilitate and foster online
engagement.
Forbes experienced a significant increase in newly registered
users on its site, with over half of its new user base choosing
to register for the site through social login.
What You Should be Measuring
Increase in registrations - How much have site registration numbers increased since
implementing social login?
Value of a registered user - To determine the value of a registered user, you’ll want to examine
the estimated return for new user registrations. Take the following example: An ecommerce site
registers 10,000 users a month. Of these registrations, 500 users go on to make purchases on the
site over the span of a year. If the margin for each shopping cart conversion is $75, then the
value per registered user would be $3.75 -- (500*$75)/10,000 = 3.75.
Decrease in forgotten password help desk issues - When users log in socially, they save
themselves from having to remember another username and password combination; your
business, in turn, avoids the hassle of dealing with lost password recovery issues.
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Formula for Calculating Social Login ROI
Increase in Registrations with Social Login * Value per Registered User
Example: After adding social login, your registrations increased by 28%, resulting in 15,000 new
socially registered users. Using the value per registered user above ($3.75), your ROI calculation
would be: 15,000 * $3.75 = $56,250
METHOD #2
Finding the Value of Customer Data
Why Social Data?
As more and more businesses are discovering, true customer understanding begins with social
data. According to a recent survey sample of 2,200 marketers around the world (CIO), 71% of
marketers plan to implement big data analytics into their marketing strategies within the next
two years.
Having access to users’ social profiles and behavior data enables businesses to better tailor
their marketing efforts and online experiences for increased relevancy. For instance, a user who
logs in with his Facebook account grants your business access to his profile information, which
can include his interests, social graph, location, and more. You can then use this data to tailor
your marketing campaigns and online experience to that individual user.
Source: http://www.cio.com/article/737887/Marketers_See_Value_in_Big_Data_Analytics_But_Face_Hurdles
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Social Login:
Collect users’ first-party data
in a streamlined, secure
manner.
Dynamic Database:
Store unlimited identity data
fields in a safe, cloud-based
database designed for
social.
Insights Dashboard:
Visualize and act on the first
party social data of anyone
who connects with your
brand .
Key Tools and Technology
Use Case: KLM Personalizes and Socializes the Flying
Experience
Traditionally, flying has been a somewhat isolating
experience: airlines don’t typically know much about their
passengers other than their flight history, dietary restrictions,
and payment details, and passengers generally don’t expect
to socialize in-flight.
In a push to differentiate itself from its competitors, Dutch
airline KLM challenges age-old flying conventions by
integrating social technology into its in-flight experiences.
It set the stage for serendipitous meetings amongst
passengers with its Meet & Seat program, which socializes
the flying experience by letting passengers authenticate their
social identities and choose their plane seats according to the
social profiles of other socially logged in passengers on their
flight.
Not only does social login help passengers easily identify
other customers on their flights, it also acts as a gateway into
a wealth of customer identity data which KLM can connect to
its customers’ flight histories, meal preferences, airline
rewards, and more.
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“Social Login and consumer management technologies equipped
our business with the tools to create a personal in-flight
experience.”
Rob Zwerink, Director of eDevelopment, KLM
What You Should be Measuring
Average Value of Data Collected Per User – To get this number, you will need to assign a
value to the data you are collecting when a new user authenticates with a social identity. Social
profile data like interests, number of friends, relationship status, and education are all
examples of customer data that can help you improve the effectiveness of your marketing
campaigns. There are many services that allow you to purchase similar sets of data. By
collecting social data as users authenticate with a social identity, you’ll get more accurate
information without the high cost.
Number of Socially Connected Users – To calculate the value of data, you’ll need to keep
track of the number of users who authenticate with a social identity.
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Formula for Calculating ROI from Social Data
Average Value of Data Collected Per User * Number of Socially
Connected Users
Example: To obtain a registered user’s birthday, relationship status, location, and friend count is
worth an average of $1.25 to your business. Each month there’s an average 5,000 granting access to
this information by logging in socially. Your ROI calculation would be: 5,000 * $1.25 = $6,250
METHOD #3
Applying Customer Data to Business Applications
Why Use Customer Data?
As important as it is to understand users in deeper ways by collecting and analyzing their social
data, businesses wanting to establish lasting relationships with customers need to effectively
utilize this data to boost customer engagement and drive conversions.
To start acting on your social data, you’ll want to port it into marketing platforms such as email
marketing software, recommendation engines, CRMs, ecommerce platforms, ad serving
platforms, DMPs, and more. Integrating marketing platforms with first-party user data leads to
personalized marketing efforts and more meaningful user experiences.
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Integrations with
Marketing Applications:
You’ll need to be able to
easily port acquired
customer data into
marketing platforms like
email marketing software,
recommendation engines,
CRMs, ecommerce
platforms, ad serving
platforms, DMPs, and more,
to start personalizing user
experiences and marketing
campaigns.
Key Tools and TechnologyUse Case: Virgin America Celebrates Customers’ Birthdays
Virgin America creates authentic connections with its customers
by collecting data on their users’ favorite teams, birthdays, and
full names. It then ports this user data into its existing email
marketing platforms and configures its email client to
automatically send a personalized promotional message to
customers on their birthdays.
In the example below, Virgin America’s email displays a
personalized birthday message along with a 15% birthday
discount code. By reaching out to customers with a relevant
birthday greeting, Virgin America creates tailored user
experiences while encouraging customers to purchase a flight
through its online booking system.
What You Should be Measuring
Increase in Application Conversion – After porting your data into the appropriate marketing
platforms, your business needs to measure the conversions generated by these data-fueled
marketing campaigns. How much have your conversions increased since incorporating
consumer social data?
Increase Value of a Conversion from Improved Application Performance – Data-driven
conversions are likely to bring more value to your business, as they represent more targeted,
relevant opportunities for your customers. What is the increase in conversion value (e.g. CPMs
or average order value) of a data-backed marketing strategy?
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Formula for Calculating Data Driven ROI
Increase in Conversions * Value of a Conversion
Example: Incorporating customer data into an email campaign resulted in a 14% increase in email
click-through rate, which led to an extra 25 conversions. If the average order value of those 25
conversions was $125, your ROI Calculation would be: 25 * $125 = 3,125
METHOD #4
Create Meaningful User Experiences
Why Create More Engaging and Relevant User Experiences?
To help you better grasp the direct impact of creating more engaging user experiences through
integration of social plugins, we’ve outlined the core benefits below.
Shorter potential path to purchase - According to a survey by Dimensional Research, 90
percent of respondents claimed that positive online reviews directly influenced buying
decisions.
Increased sense of community among users - Social consumers love to interact online,
whether by sharing and commenting on content or chatting directly with other visitors.
Increased SEO ranking - Adding more user-generated content to your site through plugins like
comments and reviews helps your business optimize for search.
Referral traffic from social channels - Share plugins enable seamless, quick sharing of site
content to users’ social networks, which results in more referral traffic back to your web
properties. Our research shows that 22 percent of all comments and reviews are shared to
social networks.
Source: https://blog.gigya.com/gigya-data-22-of-comments-and-reviews-are-shared-to-social-networks/
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Share:
Get users sharing the right content at the right
moments to increase high quality referral traffic
from social networks.
Comments:
Allow users to leave feedback on your site’s content
while boosting SEO with user-generated content.
Ratings & Reviews:
Let users share opinions on products and services
across your site.
Activity Feed:
Show real-time activity from friends and your entire
site community through shared content,
comments, ratings & reviews, gamification, and any
other tagged action on your site.
Key Tools and TechnologySHARE
RATINGS & REVIEWS
COMMENTS
ACTIVITY FEED
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Use Case: Dallas Morning News Fosters a Social Reader Base
Social Login allows Dallas Morning News’ user base to register and log in for the site quickly and
easily using their existing social network profiles before leaving a comment. By providing a
convenient alternative to traditional registration and login, Dallas Morning News encourages
users to verify their social identities before performing other site actions while creating
opportunities for itself to capture actionable user data.
This process of logging in with an existing social profile before commenting adds a layer of
authenticity to the site experience, converting what would otherwise be anonymous users into
known customers.
After making it easier for users to authenticate their social identities on Dallasnews.com and
making the commenting process less anonymous, Dallas Morning News saw its commenting
activity rise 92% after just the first four months of implementing Gigya’s Social Login and
Comments, with over half of subscribers logging in socially to leave comments. What’s more,
Social Login automatically filters out spam bots, increasing the quality of comments and
improving the overall user experience on Dallasnews.com while reducing labor needs for
comment moderation by 95%.
By offering multiple Social Login options, Dallasnews.com also increases its user login rates,
making the barrier to entry for registration and sign in easier and quicker.
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“Comments gives us the ability to create a more customized user
experience on the front-end while also providing a much more
robust moderating experience on the back-end.
We’ve definitely seen the tremendous impact that social login and
authentication has on the overall commenting experience.”
Michael Landauer, Dallas Morning News Digital Communities Manager
What You Should be Measuring
Increase in SEO Traffic – As we discussed earlier, user-generated content helps boost SEO. How
much has SEO traffic increased since implementing social plugins?
Increase in Social Referral Traffic – Social plugins, especially Share buttons, help boost traffic
from social networks. What is the increase in social referral traffic?
Visits to Conversion – Referral traffic is valuable but often times difficult to measure in
monetary terms. When it comes to real returns, you want to look at conversions. How many of
your site visits lead to actual conversions?
Value of a Conversion – Conversions should lead to direct revenue, such as a customer
completing a purchase on your site or clicking on an ad. What is the value of each conversion?
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Formula for Calculating the ROI of Customer Engagement
(Increase in Traffic * Conversion Rate) * Value of a Conversion
Example: Adding social plugins resulted in 10,000 new visits from social and organic traffic. Your
average conversion rate for those traffic sources is 1.2% and your average order value is $120. Your
ROI calculation would be: (10,000 *1.2%)*$120 = $14,400
METHOD #5
Increasing Customer Loyalty Through Gamification
Why Gamification?
Rewards programs, which are often times integrated into gamification, allow businesses to
incentivize users by offering virtual or physical goods to users who perform valuable site
actions. Incentives promote repeat site visits and generate valuable conversions, which can
translate to direct returns.
In fact, websites featuring a gamified, incentive-based program experience a 29% increase in
overall site actions (Gigya).
(Source: Gigya, https://blog.gigya.com/gamification-real-results-not-hype-infographic/)
Another way to promote customer loyalty is to encourage some friendly competition across
your web properties. Gamification enables businesses to reward customers with points,
badges, and other prizes for completing specific site actions. Users can level up and see how
they stack up against other users, which fosters a sense of community among your user base.
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Social Login:
Collect users’ first-party data
in a streamlined, secure
manner.
Gamification:
Build customer loyalty by
incentivizing users with
points, badges, and special
offers for performing
positive actions on your site
or mobile app.
Social Plugins:
Facilitate valuable behavior
like sharing, commenting,
and more.
Key Tools and TechnologyUse Case: Capcom Grows its Customer Base with
Gamification
In a push to drive engagement and awareness for the
relaunch of one of its biggest franchises, Devil May Cry
(DmC), video game retailer Capcom teamed with Gigya to
create a mobile app that would create a connected, holistic
experience between the mobile app and console game while
extending play time and engagement.
For a seamless, permission-based sign-in process, Capcom
integrated social login to get its users started with the app
quickly. To drive friendly competition and encourage more
interaction with the app, Capcom gamified its mobile
experience, creating personal missions for users to complete
in exchange for virtual rewards.
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After launching its mobile app, Capcom saw thousands of daily social logins, with users
continuing to engage with the app’s game elements, logging in an average of 6.1 times. The
retailer also surpassed $1 million in game sales in its first month of launching the app.
The screenshots below demonstrate Capcom’s socially-powered, gamified mobile experience:
What You Should be Measuring
Value of Incentivized Actions – Each time you offer incentives to your users for performing
valuable actions, your business derives value from these performed actions. In order to
calculate the ROI of Gamification, you will need to assign values to customer actions. Before
launching, it’s important to have a good grasp of what each action is worth so that you can
measure results to clearly demonstrate ROI.
Increase in Valuable Actions – Whether you’re encouraging users to share to social networks
or make a repeat purchase, Gamification should be designed to increase the customer actions
that impact your business’s bottom line. To calculate the impact of Gamification, you will need to
track the increase in valuable customer actions over time.
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Formula for Calculating the ROI of Gamification
Value of Incentivized Actions * Increase in Valuable Actions
Example: Value of a customer review = $5. After implementing a loyalty system, reviews increased by
1,000/month. Your ROI would be: 1,000 x $5 = $5,000
Demystifying ROI
With the right tools, methods, and strategy, social ROI can be achieved and measured in a way
that’s easy to understand and demonstrate. Hopefully this guide serves as a starting point to
begin your journey of executing an identity centric marketing strategy that results in positive ROI.
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About GigyaGigya helps clients build better customer relationships by turning unknown visitors into
known, loyal and engaged customers. With Gigya’s technology, businesses increase
registrations and identify customers across devices, consolidate data into rich customer
profiles, and provide better products and experiences through integrations with leading
marketing and service applications. More than 700 of the world’s leading brands rely on
Gigya to build identity-driven relationships and to provide scalable, secure Customer
Identity Management.