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Agenda
HOST:
Isaac RoseboomHead of Insight
What the best games knowthat the rest don’t
Agenda Introduction
• Frictionless and interactive on-boarding
• A hierarchical approach to game loop at session, day and
week level
• Aggressive rewarding process that constantly gives player
momentum
Last few years has seen radical improvement in retention mechanics in F2P :
GARDENSCAPES STAR WARS GALAXY OF HEROES CONTEST OF CHAMPIONS
Strong task system to direct player Escalating rewards for daily play Strong elder player loop
Agenda F2P monetization
• ‘GOOD’ retention (e.g. D1 retention of 40% and D7 of 15%) will give an ‘average’ player
lifetime of 15 days
• So if you want a $1.50 LTV (i.e. $1 net LTV) need an ARPDAU of 10¢ **
• In the deltaDNA platform, currently fewer than 30% of games would achieve this.
30%
However running a profitable F2P game is still difficult…
**All revenue figures gross (i.e. before app store cut)
Agenda Why games struggles?
1. Too generous to non-payers
2. IAP is too cheap
3. No drive for spenders to spend again
4. Not enough Whales
Why do games with good retention struggle to monetize?
Agenda deltaDNA study
• 100 best performing games by MAU
• Roughly even split across genres: Puzzle, Action,
Strategy
• Just iOS
• Just US players
Can use deltaDNA data across many games to answer these questions
Charts that follow are for:
Agenda Too generous
Day 7 Retention vs. Day 7 Spender%• Day 7 Spenders: %Players active
on day 7 who have spent at any point
• High Day 7 retention no guarantee of good monetization!
• 38% of games with D7 > 10% have 10c ARPDAU
• 54% of games with D7 Spenders > 10% have 10c ARPDAU
Agenda IAP is too cheap
Conversion does not decrease if minimum price point is increasedBut… ARPDAU increases dramatically
Does not include starter bundles / promotions – just standard pricing
Price point lower than $2 devalues game significantly
Q3 = 75th percentile of games studied; M = median of games, Q1 = 25th percentile of games
Agenda No repeat spending
Hard to get above 10¢ ARPDAU without at least 3 IAPs / spender (lifetime)
Agenda Not enough Whales
Hard to get to 10¢ ARPDAU without at least 5% of spenders being WhalesWhale > $100/month
Agenda Getting to 10¢ ARPDAU
If you want 10¢ ARPDAU, you need:• Day 7 retention > 10%• Payers on day 7 > 10%• Min. price point > $2 • At least 3 spends / spender • At least 5% whales ( > $100 lifetime spend)
16% of games achieve all thisAll that do have ARPDAU > 10¢; 30¢ mean ARPDAU
How can this be achieved? (via analytics of course!)
Derive basic KPI goals from these charts
**All revenue figures gross (i.e. before app store cut)
Agenda How to do it?
• Need at least 1,000 spenders to get any answers from analytics
• At 2% conversion rate, this means 50k players(i.e. serious soft-launch with marketing spend)
• Want to get basics right before this:‣ Core game must drive committed players towards
IAP‣ IAP pricing should be well thought-out ‣ Game must drive repeat conversion
Recipe to build a high LTV game
Agenda Carrot vs stick
Either way, it must be deeply integrated into the core game loop
Design: driving conversion
Premium experience
Flexible play
Pros: Naturally leads to repeat
purchase
Cons: Hard to design
Resource pinch points
Pay walls
Pros: Easy to construct
Cons: Increases churn
REWARD PUNISH
Agenda Good monetisation strategies
CLASH ROYALE
‘Soft’ pinch points
BEST FIENDS FOREVER
Integrated into core reward loop
GOLF CLASH
Well balanced bundle offers Gacha and collection mechanics
STAR WARS: GALAXY OF HEROES
Agenda Building analytics into design
Three step process to drive design-analytics cycle1. KPIs (is there a problem?)2. Shallow (where is there a problem?)3. Deep (what is the problem?)
Developing these mechanics via analytics
Agenda
STEP STEP STEP
KP I SHALLOW DEEP
Example: Conversion
Daily conversion < 1%
Agenda
STEP STEP STEP
KP I SHALLOW DEEP
Example: Repeat spend
Lifetime conversion > 2%
but…Daily conversion < 1%
Spends by level Spender economy balance
Agenda
STEP STEP STEP
KP I SHALLOW DEEP
Example: Pricing
Is my minimum price < $2
Daily conversion > 1%
but…ARPPU = $8
Yes
Agenda
STEP STEP STEP
KP I SHALLOW DEEP
Example: Whales
Lifetime conversion > 2%
Daily conversion > 1%Min. price point > $2
but…ARPDAU = 6c
Most whales build up via daily spend of moderate
amountsLook at player spending
patterns
Agenda Using analytics
• Ability to track and analyze player behavior at granular level
• Ability to build custom reports and track bespoke KPIs over time
• Ability to test quickly and report detailed impact of tests (not just p-value)
How analytics technology can support decision making?
Agenda Conclusion
Designing a successful game is not easy!
Using analytics it is possible to identify and understand underperforming aspects and
improve
BUT…
HOST:
Isaac RoseboomHead of Insight
Thank you!