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Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar Presented to Prevention Agencies December 1, 2011

Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

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Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar. Presented to Prevention Agencies December 1, 2011. Welcome to the IDPH SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar on Underage & Binge Drinking!. Introductions. Julie Hibben, IDPH SPF SIG Project Director - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

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Page 1: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Iowa Department of Public HealthSPF SIG Substance Abuse

Webinar

Presented to Prevention AgenciesDecember 1, 2011

Page 2: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Welcome to the IDPH SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar on Underage & Binge Drinking!

Page 3: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Introductions• Julie Hibben, IDPH SPF SIG Project Director• Kelly Konz, ZLRIGNITION Account Supervisor• Nick Grant, ZLRIGNITION Account Manager• Andrea Marinaro, ZLRIGNITION Vice President,

Media Director

Page 4: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Agenda• Overview• Underage Drinking

– Research Findings– Creative– Media

• Binge Drinking– Research Findings– Creative– Media

• Local Initiatives• Q&A

Page 5: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Overview• Provides a statewide message about underage

drinking and adult binge drinking• SPF SIG counties should use both campaigns• IDPH will not fund additional media campaigns

through SPF SIG• Media campaign materials will be available to the

SPF SIG Coordinator through ZLR• Non-SPF SIG funded counties can utilize the media

campaigns by contacting Julie Hibben

Page 6: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Campaign Reminders

• The campaigns will:– Help start the discussion– Spotlight the issues

• The campaigns will not:– Provide lots of specific education– Solely be the answer

• Counties will not be permitted to change the campaign materials

Page 7: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Project Overview• Facilitate foundational research to understand current drinking

behaviors and attitudes, and perceived benefits, concerns and motivations

• Develop creative using insight obtained in foundational research for a marketing communications campaign to combat underage and binge drinking

• Conduct validation research to evaluate creative concepts and ultimately discover the best liked and most talk value campaign

• Develop media schedule to generate awareness and combat underage and binge drinking in the 23 designated Iowa counties

• Develop additional marketing materials to be used locally by prevention agencies

Page 8: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Specifications• Foundational research

– 6 focus groups in Iowa City

• Creative validation research– 4 focus groups in Dubuque – Prevention agency phone calls

• Split evenly between underage and binge drinking• Mix of age, sex, geography, education and income• Must have consumed alcohol or be open to before age 21• Participants completed multiple exercises throughout the

groups to provide framework for discussion

Page 9: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Alcohol Adoption & Use

• Across all sessions, a common adoption process surfaced

– Many try alcohol for the first time between the ages of 13-15– College as a lifestage offers a constant drinking occasion– Drinking tends to wane after college as adult priorities shift

Page 10: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Underage Drinking

Page 11: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Findings

• No stereotypical “face” to underage drinking – behavior transcends group, crowd, gender

• Incidence of underage drinking is high among high school teens - increases as students age

• Once in college enjoying the first real taste of real freedom, the vast majority of students drink at least occasionally

Page 12: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Findings• Consistent attitudes and behaviors exist across

all age groups– Reasons to drink alcohol

• Aspiration: Feel older, more mature, “badass” status• Inclusion: Feel like you’re in the group, bonding or

connecting with others, easier to meet people• Confidence: More outgoing, lose inhibitions• Entertainment: Curious, want to try it• Outlet: Stress relief, to spite parents• Accessibility: It’s not hard to get

Page 13: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Findings

– Reasons NOT to drink alcohol• Not secure: Unsafe location, uncomfortable• Negative physical effects: Hangover, sick, blackouts• Behavior concerns: Bad decisions, look like an idiot• Risking future: Priority on sports and education, don’t want to mess

up future• Negative impact on relationships: Say things don’t mean• Safety: Look out for friends who are drinking• Break parental trust: Morals, getting caught, loss of trust• Long-term health effects: Overall, weight gain• Potential legal issues: Illegal, getting arrested• Tragedy: Drunk driving, accidents, death

Page 14: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Underage Age Conclusions• Reach target before their critical decision moment.

Younger students are much more impressionable.– Give them the confidence to make a smart decision before

they are faced with the decision to drink for the first time.

• Can’t tell this audience not to drink. Instead, educate on the risks and harms.

• Make the audience stop and think about their drinking decision. Empower them to take control of their life.

• Keep it real, avoid a lecture

Page 15: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

“Bottle Cap”

Page 16: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

“Bottle Cap”

Page 17: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

“Bottle Cap”

• Creative Research Validation– Easy to grasp, yet effective– Strong message on how drinking can affect your life– Appealing as highly relevant aspects of life potentially

affected by underage drinking– Inclusive/clicks for everyone– Stopping power– Outdoor simple, clear

“I like how it makes you think about school, all of it, your whole future.” – Female teen, 14

Page 18: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Media Schedule• Cable TV

– Cable advertising provides the ability to geographically and demographically target the audience and efficiently cover the specific counties of interest across the state

– Markets include:• Cedar Rapids

– Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Iowa City, Mason City, South Central Iowa (Ottumwa), Upper Mississippi, Waterloo

• Des Moines– Central Iowa Interconnect (Ames, Des Moines, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown),

Spencer, Western

• Quad Cities– Clinton, Quad Cities, Southeast Iowa (Burlington)

Page 19: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Media Schedule• Cable TV

– Commercials will air on highly-rated stations including: ESPN, MTV, Comedy Central, Cartoon , Discovery, History, TBS, E!, Animal Planet, Spike and ABC Family

– 40 spots per week will air from 3pm – 12am– Commercials will air for 10 weeks between December and

April– Added Value: Free spots will air on cable networks as PSA

match and autofill, increasing the frequency of the message at no charge to IDPH

Page 20: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Media Schedule• Broadcast TV

– Sioux City market only– Commercials will begin airing in January and will air

throughout February “sweeps” weeks when programming is new and viewership is highest

– Commercials will air during live airings of American Idol each week to efficiently reach the 13-16 year-old target audience

– Schedule runs for 9 weeks, January – March– 1 spot per week will air during American Idol

Page 21: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Media Schedule• Outdoor

– Outdoor will further extend the reach of the campaign into the counties of interest

– Each county of interest will have a billboard message except for Ringgold in which no boards were available during this time frame

– Billboards will post for 8 weeks in December and January– Boards will remain posted after January as added value as

available in each market

Page 22: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Binge Drinking

Page 23: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Findings• Adult drinkers express similar motivations and

attitudes around drinking as their underage counterparts– Reasons to drink alcohol

• Socialize: Spend time with friends, family, co-workers• Entertainment: Have fun, laugh, dance, happy mood• Make memories: Bond with others, good time• Outlet: Relaxing, stress-relief, takes the edge off• Confidence: Ice-breaker• Taste & refreshment: Acquired taste for alcohol• Health benefits: Red wine can be good for you

Page 24: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Findings

– Reasons NOT to drink alcohol• Negative physical effects: Hangover, sick, blackouts, no memories• Behavior concerns: Might make bad decisions, act stupid• Negative impact on relationships: Say things don’t mean, regrets• Long-term health effects: Overall, weight gain, potential

alcoholism• Potential legal issues: OWI, tickets, trouble with police• Tragedy: Drunk driving, accidents, death• Family impact: Poor role model, not able to take care of kids

Page 25: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Findings• Young college students are underage, but

more closely aligned with motivations of legal drinkers – fewer drinking risks perceived once on college campus

• Considered a problem for younger people and most adults are reluctant to self-identify with binge drinking– Binge drinking advertising is perceived as

something to target college students

Page 26: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Findings• Binge drinking generally considered no big

deal• Many described a “crossroads” around 5-7

drinks where an occasion is elevated to the next level

5-7Drinks

Page 27: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Findings

• There is a strong disconnect between perceptions of what binge drinking is and the current resources’ definition

Light Drinking Moderate Drinking Heavy Drinking# of

Drinks 1-3 4-6 7-12+

Most wouldn’t consider binge drinking until end of Heavy Drinking:

Approx. 10 drinks

Page 28: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Research Findings

• Binge drinking does not equate to a number of drinks and may lead to counter-argument

• Explanation of binge drinking based on mindset and behavior (obvious lack of control) when drinking

“Putting a number on it is ridiculous. If it says 4-5 drinks, they must really mean 8-10.” – Male adult, 22

Page 29: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Binge Drinking Conclusions• Reach audience at the intersection of developmental

lifestages – young adults are the sweet spot for binge drinking

• Reframe thoughts because binge drinking is not considered a concern for most. Must educate to help drinkers understand this is a big issue.

• Encourage personal evaluation and help audience realize their drinking occasionally falls into the binge category. Identify the crossroads when fun becomes trouble.

• Keep it real, funny

Page 30: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

“Stay Classy”

Page 31: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

“Stay Classy”

Page 32: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

“Stay Classy”

• Creative Research Validation– Creative generated most excitement and energy– “Stay Classy” line is highly appealing– Highly appealing to younger audience– Satirical humor liked by many– Would watch repeatedly and talk to friends about– Expandable campaign – potential to go viral– Billboard received great feedback – simple and humorous

“I like the ‘Stay Classy’. If your friends want you to drink, just say, ‘Naahhh… I want to Stay Classy.” – Male adult, 22

Page 33: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Media Schedule• Cable TV

– Cable advertising provides the ability to geographically and demographically target the audience and efficiently cover the specific areas of interest across the state

– Markets include:• Cedar Rapids

– Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Iowa City, Mason City, South Central Iowa (Ottumwa), Upper Mississippi, Waterloo

• Des Moines– Central Iowa Interconnect (Ames, Des Moines, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown),

Spencer, Western

• Quad Cities– Clinton, Quad Cities, Southeast Iowa (Burlington)

Page 34: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Media Schedule• Cable TV

– Commercials will air on highly-rated stations including: ESPN, Discovery, TLC, FX, TBS, Cartoon, Comedy, History, TNT, Spike, History and ABC Family

– 40 spots per week will air from 6am – 12am– Schedule runs for 10 weeks between December and April– Added Value: Free spots will air on cable networks as PSA

match and autofill, increasing the frequency of the message at no charge to IDPH

Page 35: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Media Schedule• Broadcast TV

– Sioux City market only– Spots air during February “sweeps” weeks when programming is

new and viewership is at its highest– Commercials will air during programming that best reaches the

18-22 year-old audience• Early Fringe: Simpsons, Family Guy• Prime Access: Two and a Half Men• Prime Time: American Idol, Glee, Simpsons, Modern Family,

House, CSI, How I Met Your Mother, Grammys• Sports: Super Bowl pre-show

– Schedule runs for 4 weeks in February– Purchase 50 rating points/week against 18-24 year-olds

• Equivalent to reaching 50% of this audience each week

Page 36: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Media Schedule• Outdoor

– Outdoor will further extend the reach of the campaign into the counties of interest

– Each county of interest will have a billboard message except for Ringgold, Audubon and Jefferson in which no boards were available during this time frame

– Billboards will post for 8 weeks in December and January– Boards will remain posted after January as added value as

available in each market

Page 37: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Local Marketing Materials

Page 38: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Television• Utilize TV spots from statewide campaign • Localize with personalized tag (agency name,

address, phone number, web address, etc.)• TV/Cable stations provide tag for little to no cost• Gather dub requirements from station (electronic,

Beta SP dub, etc.) and contact ZLR for file/dub• No charge for electronic files. Cost is approximately

$40 per physical dub + shipping.

Page 39: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Outdoor• Utilize outdoor from statewide campaign• Artwork will be provided by ZLR upon request• Outdoor production companies will print boards• Printing costs run approximately $100 per poster

board and $1800 per vinyl board

Page 40: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Underage Poster & Print Ad Creative

Page 41: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Poster• Localize with personalized tag (agency name,

address, phone number, web address, etc.)• Sizes are 11”x17” x 24”x36”• Artwork will be provided by ZLR upon request

Page 42: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Print Ad• Poster artwork can also be used as print ad• Vertical formatted BW or Color ad• Localize with personalized tag (agency name,

address, phone number, web address, etc.)• Newspapers will provide tag for little to no

cost• Artwork will be provided by ZLR upon request• No cost to send electronic pdf file to

newspaper

Page 43: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Underage Online Banner Ads Creative

Page 44: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Online Banner Ads

• Banner ads created for use online advertising• Localize with personalized tag (agency name,

and web address or phone number)• Gather size requirements and artwork will be

provided by ZLR upon request

Page 45: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

ZLRIGNITION Contact Information

• Contact Nick Grant for creative orders– 515-244-4456 – [email protected]

• Contact Andrea Marinaro for creative orders– 515-244-4456 – [email protected]

Page 46: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

How To Run Materials In Your Local Community

Page 47: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Pros and Cons of Advertising Options

Medium Pros Cons

Cable

Low cost per spot High frequency of the message Target networks with high appeal to

target audience Excellent added value

High frequency, low reach Only reaches households that subscribe

to cable (51% of Iowa Households) Low rural coverage

Broadcast Television

Mass reach medium, available in nearly all Iowa households

Buying the Iowa TV markets of: Cedar Rapids, Des Moines, Mason City, Quad Cities, Sioux City, Ottumwa, and Omaha reaches 99% of Iowa Households

Consistent added value results

Higher cost per spot than cable (priced based on reaching a percentage of a target audience using rating points)

High reach, low frequency

Outdoor Billboards

Metro and rural coverage Visually appealing message Message cannot be shut off Excellent added value results

Expensive to cover the entire state High production costs to print vinyl Cannot target demographically Message must be succinct

Page 48: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Medium Pros Cons

Radio

Rural and metro coverage available Generates frequency of the message Ads are 60 seconds long for messages

with more to say Can target specific times of day

Expensive to cover the entire state Listenership is fragmented Satellite radio, CDs and iPod use

continues to rise Good added value

Online

Low cost per thousand Can purchase millions of impressions on

a variety of web sites Geo and demo targeting available Measurable results Effective when driving someone to a web

site for more information

Must have a good web site Defining success based on clicks to

your web site may be misleading, some messages should be used for generating awareness

Dependant on a person seeking out your message

Message can be ignored No added value

Print

Can target metro and rural areas Good for reaching older demographics

Expensive to cover the state Overall newspaper readership and

subscribers are down No added value results

Pros and Cons of Advertising Options

Page 49: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Medium Pros Cons

Movie Theater

Can reach people out with friends with an entertaining message

Commercials run on large movie theater screens before the movie, captive audience

Reaches ethnic and young audiences that tend to frequent movies

Metro and rural coverage available

Expensive to cover the state High production costs to transfer

commercial to film Spots run before movies so if people

show up late they miss the spot Cannot target demographically People that don’t attend movies won’t

see the spot No added value

Gas Station Signage

Reach people at gas pumps and convenience stores

Metro and rural coverage available Good added value

Cannot target demographically Message is static, does not necessarily

draw attention

Mall Signage

Target metro areas Message can be large and visually

appealing

Message must be family friendly Inability to target demographics Low rural reach

Bus Signage

Targets metro areas with visually appealing message

Mobile billboard Good added value

Not available in every area of the state

Bathroom Signage

Target people in bars and restaurants Message can be detailed Good added value

Not available in every area of the state

Pros and Cons of Advertising Options

Page 50: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Cost Comparisons for AdsCost Comparisons for space costs for Des Moines market: Cable Spot One 30 second spot on HGTV - $78 Television One 30 second spot on KCCI 10pm News - $900 Outdoor Billboard One vinyl 14x48 billboard in Des Moines - $4,200/month Online One thousand banner ads on youtube.com - $2.50 cost per thousand Radio One 60 second spot on WHO-AM - $225 Gas Station Gas pump signs at one gas station - $415/month Movie Theater One week of commercials on 20 screens at Jordan Creek theaters - $425/week Mall Signage Backlit at Valley West Mall - $800/month Print One half-page ad in Sunday Des Moines Register – $10,000 Bus Signage One ad on side of bus - $250/month Bathroom Signage One ad in a bathroom at one location - $205/month

Note: Costs are constantly changing and are based on multiple factors, these numbers are for reference only

Page 51: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Glossary of Media TermsCost Per Point – cost to deliver the equivalent of one rating point (1 percent) of a specific audience segment with a media vehicle. Used to compare cost efficiencies of one TV/Radio program versus another. Cost Per Thousand (CPM) – the cost per 1,000 people (or homes) delivered by a medium. For example, a media vehicle that costs $10,000 and has an audience of 500,000 has a CPM of $20. Used to compare efficiencies across mediums Frequency – the number of times the target audience has an opportunity to be exposed to a message Gross Rating Point - Reach multiplied by frequency is the gross rating point or the sum of all ratings. For example, if one commercial is scheduled in each of two TV programs each with a 10 rating, that will accumulate 20 GRPs. The reason for using the word “gross” indicates there is duplication between the two ratings so the people who viewed program A might also view program B therefore, they do not reach 20% of people but the equivalent of 20 percent of the people, one time with the message. Impression – the gross sum of all media exposures without regard to duplication expressed in absolute audience numbers rather than a percentage. Rating – Percentage of a given population group consuming a medium at a particular moment. For example, we say a TV program had a 10 rating of adults 18-49 is to say that 10 percent of the adult population ages 18-49 viewed the average minute of the program. Ratings apply to specific demographic groups as well as geographic areas. Reach – the number of different individuals exposed to a commercial, it is a net number that eliminates duplication. Reach for television and radio is usually shown by week or cumulatively for a 4-week period or longer.

Page 52: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar

Q&A