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8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Effective Digital Marketing Techniques
for the SME
presented to:
E-business 2008 Conference - The National B2B Centre
25thSeptember 2008
Dave Chaffey, Marketing Insights Limited
www.davechaffey.com/presentations
www.davechaffey.com/MyBooks
http://www.davechaffey.com/presentationshttp://www.davechaffey.com/MyBookshttp://www.davechaffey.com/MyBookshttp://www.davechaffey.com/presentations8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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guru a religious leader or teacher in the Hindu orSikh religion or, more generally, a person who isrespected for their knowledge of a particular subjectand who gives advice
About Dave ChaffeyAn e-marketing guru!
www.davechaffey.com
Recognised by the CIM in 2004 as one of 50
people who have shaped the future of marketing
and by DTI in 2005 as a key contributor to the
development of UK E-commerce in the last 10years
Author of 6 best-selling
business books
E-marketing Excellence, Internet Marketing
E-business and e-commerce Mgt
Total E-mail Marketing
E-marketing trainer and
consultant
Clients include 3M, BP, CIPD, Euroffice, HSBC,
IDM, Intel, Mercedes-Benz, Siebel and Tektronix.
Analyst at www.e-consultancy.com.
E-marketing consultant at www.cScape.com.
Visiting lecturer at leadingUK business schools
Cranfield School of Management E-commerce
Leeds University Business School
Warwick (E-business)2
Previously Birmingham, Derby
http://www.davechaffey.com/http://www.e-consultancy.com/http://www.cscape.com/http://www.cscape.com/http://www.e-consultancy.com/http://www.e-consultancy.com/http://www.e-consultancy.com/http://www.davechaffey.com/8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Your Toolboxwhat really matters?
Source: E-consultancy Guide to Managing Digital Channels
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Agendawhat really matters:
16 Practical Tips
Digital Marketing Tips Watch out for1. Search Engine Marketing SEO, AdWords
2. Analytics Goals, Bounce rates
3. Landing Pages OVP/Branding
4. Email Marketing Bounce rates, inbox
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1. Search Engine Marketing
Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)
Paid Search Marketing = Google AdWords
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Introducing Search Engine Marketing.
SEM = SEO + PPC
Paid listings -Pay Per Click (PPC)
Natural or organic listings -Search engine optimisation (SEO)
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What are the ranking factors affecting position
in Google?
200
+ -
1. On-page optimisation
Document meta data Keyphrases in document content
Creation of new pages
2. Off-page optimisation
Link-buildingquantity AND quality External links
Links In
Backlinks
Inbound links
AND Internal links
3. Behavioural
Popularity of sites from toolbar
4.Googles search spam filters
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Tip #1. Use the Google Keyword tool to perform
demand-gap analysis
Free search tools www.davechaffey.com/seo-keyword-tools
https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal
http://www.davechaffey.com/seo-keyword-toolshttps://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternalhttps://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternalhttp://www.davechaffey.com/seo-keyword-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/seo-keyword-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/seo-keyword-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/seo-keyword-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/seo-keyword-tools8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Practice Ethical White Hat SEO or else
example of a link-buying penalty
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Which SEO ranking factors should I focus on?
Tip #2. On page:
tag = 4.9/5
Keyword frequency and density = 3.7/5 Keyword in headings = = 3.1, = 2.8
Keyword in document name = 2.8
Meta name description = 2/5
Meta name keywords = 1/5
Tip #3. Off-page
More backlinks (higher PageRank)= 4/5
Link anchor text contains keyword = 4.4/5
Page assessed as a hub = 3.5/5
Page assessed as an authority = 3.5/5
Link velocity (rate at which changes) = 3.5/5
See http://www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors
http://www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factorshttp://www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factorshttp://www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factorshttp://www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factorshttp://www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factorshttp://www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Tip #4. Controlling your messaging in the
search results page
Paid listings -
Pay Per Click (PPC)
Natural or organic listings -Search engine optimisation (SEO)
tags tags
Or Snippets from pageOr www.dmoz.org
NBMeta name=keywords NOT used by Google
http://www.dmoz.org/http://www.dmoz.org/8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Check your brand messaging
Practical tipTo evaluate use search syntax:
site:domain.com +
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Tip #5 Use footer links and
primary nav for SEO
Current accounts page
Home page
Tip: Ensure primary and secondary
Navigation labels include keyphraseswithin anchor text
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Tip #6. Create link-bait?
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Monitor by:
Yahoo! Site Explorer http://siteexplorer.search.yahoo.com/ Not Google link: - its not comprehensive
Googlealert service: www.googlealert.com Most recent updates on phrase, i.e. Brand name + product or service
Find partners using Google related:syntax
www.davechaffey.com/online-reputation-management-tools
Tip #7.
Monitoringonline
influencers
& partners:
- Your own- Competitors
http://siteexplorer.search.yahoo.com/http://www.googlealert.com/http://www.davechaffey.com/online-reputation-management-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/online-reputation-management-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/online-reputation-management-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/online-reputation-management-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/online-reputation-management-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/online-reputation-management-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/online-reputation-management-toolshttp://www.davechaffey.com/online-reputation-management-toolshttp://www.googlealert.com/http://siteexplorer.search.yahoo.com/8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Tip #8 Use Google Webmaster tools
Reasons for using and distributing diagnosis:
Crawl errors
Search query performance
Internal and external link reports
Practical Tip:
Essential to use:
relevant anchor text for linking
pages
within copy
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Tip #9. Monitor and improve drivers of
Quality Score for paid search
Tip: Check a selection of your Quality scores and relevance for keywords within AdWords Ad Groups
Terms:
CTR = Clickthrough rate
Ad text relevance = Match of headline and description to search term
Keyword relevance = Match of triggering keyword to search term
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Ad Text Relevance
A good match between search
term and ad text
Clickthrough rate
A good match between search
term and Ad Headline
Clickthrough rate
Inclusion of brand name can
improve CTR and increase
awareness
Clickthrough rate
Value proposition inclusion
of competitive price and free
pack increases CTR
www.optimax.co.uk/Default.aspx?page=0&adcode=googleppc&OrgAdCode=googleppc&WT.srch=1
Adtext relevance
Triggering search term in
account matches
search term
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How is an Ad Group Structured?
https://adwords.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=6106
What are my controls?
Daily budget
Where, when ads displayed
Google Network
Number of ad groups
Triggering keywords
Keyword match type
Max CPC bids
Copy
https://adwords.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=6106https://adwords.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=61068/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Good campaign structure leads to relevant ads
leading to good quality score
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2. Analytics
Tuning Google Analytics
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Tip #10 Reduce your bounce rate
Percentage of vis i tors who enter the site and
who then imm ediately exi t
Should benchmark for different:
1. Digital channels (Search, ads, direct, email)
2. Different sites, placements or search terms
3. Creative
4. Different landing pages
20% = Great
40% = OK
60% = Spam
#
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Tip #6 - tune your
www.google.com/analyticssetup
1. Define conversion goals(including value) & funnels
2. Define unique pages (e.g. remove Session IDs from URLs)
3. Setup filters (e.g. new visitors only, paid search, campaigns)
4. Put campaign tracking tags in placehttp://www.epikone.com/landing_page.php?utm_campaign=fall-sale &utm_medium=banner
&utm_source=boston.com&utm_content=text-only
Variable Meaning
utm_campaign The name of the marketing campaign, e.g. Spring Campaign.
utm_mediumMedia channel (i.e. email, banner, CPC, etc).
What is the distribution method that is used to get our message out to our clients?
utm_source Who are you partnering with to push your message. A publisher, or for paid search Google,Yahoo, Live Search,
utm_contentThe version of the ad (used for A/B testing). You can identify two versions of the same ad using
this variable.
utm_termThe search term purchased (if youre buying keywords).
This is not always used and is NOT included in the above example.
http://www.google.com/analyticshttp://www.google.com/analytics8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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3. Landing pages
Proving your not a dog
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Persuasion through substantiation
1. PresumedGeneral assumptions inthe mind of the perceiver
2. SurfaceSimple inspection or initial
first-hand experience
3. ReputedThird party endorsements,reports or referrals
4. EarnedFirst hand experience thatextends over time
www.euroffice.co.uk
http://www.euroffice.co.uk/http://www.euroffice.co.uk/8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Tip #11. Defining your OVP
Core brand proposition= Marketing Mix:
Who are you?What do you do?
Where you do it?
What makes you different?
OVP - Online Value PropositionReinforces core brand proposition and credibility, but
messaging shows:
Value that a site visitor get from your online brand orcampaign that
They cant get from you offline?
They cant get from competitors?
Communicate message forcefully:online and offline
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Does your message stand out?
http://www.useit.com/alertbox/banner-blindness.html
f
http://www.useit.com/alertbox/banner-blindness.htmlhttp://www.useit.com/alertbox/banner-blindness.htmlhttp://www.useit.com/alertbox/banner-blindness.htmlhttp://www.useit.com/alertbox/banner-blindness.html8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Examples of Nielsens tests
A l i l f i h
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Amazon exploits top-left, top-right
Source: Etre (www.etre.com)
http://www.etre.com/http://www.etre.com/8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Tip #12 Answering visitors questions
Outcomes
+
OVP
Run-of-Site
Signup
Customer-centric copy
Questions answered
Ti #13 U f it Si d OVP
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Tip #13. Use run-of-site Sign-up and OVP
messages
OVP = Online Value Proposition
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Action
Scent
Trail
Value
Scent
Trail
PersonaScent
Trail
Credibility
Scent
Trail
T il d i l di
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Tailored campaign landing pages
https://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.html
https://corporate.bankofscotland.co.uk/CPDA
https://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://corporate.bankofscotland.co.uk/CPDAhttps://corporate.bankofscotland.co.uk/CPDAhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.htmlhttps://www.bankofscotland.co.uk/corporate/day-to-day-banking/accounts/corporate-premium-deposit-account/index.html8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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4. Email marketing
Are you a spammer?
Email template design
Tip #14 Get delivered
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Tip #14. Get delivered
1. Before you send email (Content)
A. Limit use of spam keyphrases
B. Test e-mail against spam checker, use:www.lyris.com/resources/contentchecker
C. Test delivery / renderability in ISPs/Firewalls
D. Educate your list members to whitelist you
E. Setup Email server with best practice:Use subdomain: http://email.domain.com, SPF,SenderID, etc
2. After you send Email (Reputation):
A. Remove bounces after 3 times (automatic)
B. Track complaints through closed-looped systems
C. Track Opens and Clicks across web mail companiesand main corporate clients
http://www.lyris.com/resources/contentcheckerhttp://email.domain.com/http://email.domain.com/http://www.lyris.com/resources/contentchecker8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Spam Filter examples (5 or 15 points = SPAM)
See http://spamassassin.apache.org/tests.html
See http://office.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/HA010450051033.aspx
U t t di ti t l
http://spamassassin.apache.org/tests.htmlhttp://office.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/HA010450051033.aspxhttp://office.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/HA010450051033.aspxhttp://office.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/HA010450051033.aspxhttp://office.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/HA010450051033.aspxhttp://spamassassin.apache.org/tests.html8/12/2019 SME Internet Marketing
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Use a content diagnostic tool :
Lyris E-mail Adviser
See also Sitevista.com and Browsercam.com
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Tip #15. Get seen!
Beware image blocking
Using eyetracking research
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Using eyetracking research
to inform Email design
1. Heading and subhead
copy critical
First 2-3 words most important
Make hyperlinked
2. Large fonts work well
3. Images often missed Use text link calls-to-action
4. Readers scan down
the left of an E-mail
5. First part of para important
F shape eyetrack6. Email intros skipped
Use to personalise and engage
e.g. with hyperlinks
eed to deliverScannability and Skimmability
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Effective E mail response example
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Effective E-mail response example
Tip #16. Build the creative and copy around the calls-to-action
Thank you!
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Thank you!
Download this presentation from:
www.davechaffey.com/presentations
Any questions, do e-mail me:
Subscribe to my E-marketing Essentials,monthly briefing on whats new in E-marketing
www.davechaffey.com
http://www.davechaffey.com/presentationsmailto:[email protected]://www.davechaffey.com/http://www.davechaffey.com/mailto:[email protected]:[email protected]:[email protected]://www.davechaffey.com/presentations