Richard PetersenSearch And Data Manager at Zazzle Media
How To Build BusinessCases For SEO Fixes
Request Entity Too Large
SEO In The Past
SEO Now
The Biggest Issue Facing SEO Isn’t Google…
It’s Getting Clients To Implement Fixes
So Why Aren’t Clients Implementing Fixes?
Not Enough Developers To Implement The Work
DEVELOPERS ROLE
1. Create
2. Upgrade
3. Maintain
Too Many RequestsAnd Not Enough time…
Hire More Devs
Clear Backlog, Then What???
DEVELOPERS ROLE
1. CREATE
2. UPGRADE
3. MAINTAIN
So Project Managers Limit Access To Dev Time
So All Fixes Need Justifying
How To Build BusinessCases For SEO Fixes
What Is A Business Case?
So Why Do We Need One?
8 Components For Building A Business Case
1. Track Previous Changes
Clients Need To Build A Case Before You Need One
Keep A Record Of All Work Undertaken
Best Way To Record Performance?
Sing Loudly AboutYour Successes
2. Keep Examples of Others Websites Successes
Use Evernote Or OneNote to Keep Examples on File
3. And Failures
4. Run Tests
30 Organic SessionsPer Month
Leave For 30 Days And The Check Results
45 Sessions30 Sessions
15 Extra Organic Sessions
Per Month
180 Extra Organic Session
per year
+50%
20,000
30,00020,000
120,000 Extra Organic
Session per year
5. Now Run Test Again
Can’t Run Tests?
6. Build A Test Site Or Use a Sister Site
What Is A Sister Site?
Why Use Test Sites?
7. Use Traffic Predictions
Traffic Predictions Are An Estimation of Future TrafficBased Upon Historical Data
So How On Earth Do We Do That???
What Happens If My Traffic Predictions Are Wrong?
Traffic Predictions Are Never Going To Be Perfect!
This Is How I Do It…
Work Out The Month On Month Difference For Each Month
JAN 16 110,000FEB 16 105,000 - 4.5%MAR 16 115,000 +9.5%APR 16 120,000 +4.3%
Month On Month Sessions
Create An Average Of All Month On Month Increases
= 2.5%
Now Work Out Year On Year increases
JAN 15 71,500 +35%FEB 15 78,750 +25%MAR 15 80,500 +30%APR 15 90,000 +25%
Year On Year Sessions
Create An Average Of All Year On Year Increases
= 29%
Pull It All Together
MONTH MOM YOY AVERAGEJAN 17 139,500 148,500 144,000FEB 16 142,000 131,250 136,500MAR 16 145,000 149,500 147,500APR 16 148,000 150,000 149,000
Organic Sessions 2017
Then Adjust Data
Is This The Best Way To Do Traffic Predictions?
The More You Do It The Better You Will Get
Remember, Always Show Your Workings Out
8. Attach Earnings To Data Predictions
120,000 Sessions
Average Conversion Rate 2.0%
120,000 Sessions X 2% = 2,400 transactions
Average order value of £100
Of which £30 is profit…
2400 x £30 = £72,000
Takeaways…
1. Build A Business Case Before You Need One
2. Monitor Others Success And Failures
3. Test All Ideas If Possible
4. Then Test Them Again
5. Use Test Sites Or Lower Value Sites (Sister Sites) To Run Larger Tests
6. Predict Traffic
7. Use Revenue Predictions Where Possible
8. Don’t worry if you are wrong.
9. Show Your Workings Out
Thank You!Keep in touch: @richardpetersen