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Client X Digital Campaign Chris Boyle

Client X Digital Campaign Assessment

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Client X

Digital Campaign

Chris Boyle

The Client

• Provides services to make homes in Philadelphia more energy efficient

• Consumers call or sign up online for an initial home energy assessment• Next step is to apply for loans online

Challenge

• Number of assessments and loans are significantly below expected levels

• We created a three month plan that set out to accomplish a few things:

1. Increase Online Assessments

2. Increase Phone Calls

3. Increase Online Loan Applications

Goals

• Macro• Increase Online Assessments

• Increase Phone Calls

• Increase Online Loan Applications

• Micro• Website Sessions

• Value per Conversion = $525

• Improve on previous agency’s campaign • Goals/Conversions by week

• Visits by day

• KPI’s

Important Questions

1. Did the new campaign perform better than prior campaign in the KPI’s?

2. What paid tactics performed best in the KPI’s?

3. Did the campaign have a positive ROI?

Methodology

1. Google Analytics• Calculated total KPI's for Micro and Macro Goals

• Analyze Trends in sessions and conversions over course of the campaign

• Evaluated each Paid Tactic to establish which was most successful

2. Excel• Compare YOY/Prior period

• Determine best performing paid tactics for the KPI’s

Executive Summary

Macro Goals for Current Campaign

• Total Conversions = 668

• Conversion Rate= 1.94%

• Cost per Conversion= $300,000/668 = $449.10

• ROI = (($350,700-$300,000)/$300,000) *100= 16.9%

Macro Trendline YOY

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4/2/2012 4/9/2012 4/16/2012 4/23/2012 4/30/2012 5/7/2012 5/14/2012 5/21/2012 5/28/2012 6/4/2012 6/11/2012 6/18/2012 6/25/2012

Conversions Per Week - Previous vs. Current Agency YOY

Previous

Current

2012 Campaign = 107 total conversions2013 Campaign = 668 total conversions % change = +524.30%

Macro Trendline Previous Period

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1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

Conversions per Week - Previous vs. Current Agency Prior Period

Previous

Current

2012 Campaign = 219 total conversions2013 Campaign = 668 total conversions % change = +205.02%

April – May Comparison

May – June Comparison

Micro

• Total Sessions = 34,462

• Total New Sessions= 28,570

• % New Sessions= 82.9%

• % Sessions From Paid Media= (25,780/34,408)*100= 74.9%

Micro Trendline YOY

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Daily Sessions Previous vs. Current - YOY

Previous

Current

2012 Campaign = 3,682 total sessions2013 Campaign = 34,408 total sessions % change = +834.49%

Micro Trendline Prior Period

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1 3 5 7 9 11 13 15 17 19 21 23 25 27 29 31 33 35 37 39 41 43 45 47 49 51 53 55 57 59 61 63 65 67 69 71 73 75 77 79 81 83 85 87 89 91

Daily Sessions Previous vs. Current - Previous Period

Previous

Current

2012 Campaign = 19,564 total sessions2013 Campaign = 34,408 total sessions % change = +75.87%

Paid TacticsMedia Tactic Source Medium Sessions Conversions Conversion Rate Cost CPCon Value ROI

Paid Search Google cpc 2,512 114 4.54% $ 59,850.00

Bing cpc 317 13 4.10% $ 6,825.00

Paid Search Total 2,829 127 4.49% $20,000.00 $ 157.48 $ 66,675.00 233.38%

Google Display Network Google cpc 12,186 3 0.02% $35,000.00 $11,666.67 $ 1,575.00 -95.50%

YouTube Google cpc 519 0 0.00% $ 5,000.00 $ - $ - -100.00%

weather.com Weather-ROS (Ad Size) 654 0 0.00%

Weather-iPad (Ad Size) 911 0 0.00%

weather.com Total 1,565 0 0.00% $15,000.00 $ - $ - -100.00%

Accuweather.com Accuweather-ROS (Ad Size) 290 0 0.00%

Accuweather-Mobile (Ad Size) 374 0 0.00%

Accuweather-Forecast (Ad Size) 353 0 0.00%

Accuweather.com Total 1,024 0 0.00% $10,000.00 $ - $ - -100.00%

Pandora Pandora-Desktop (Ad Size) 320 4 1.25%

Pandora-Mobile (Ad Size) 3,741 0 0.00%

Pandora Total 4,061 4 0.10% $15,000.00 $ 3,750.00 $ 2,100.00 -86.00%

6abc.com 6abc-weather (Ad Size) 333 0 0.00%

6abc-ROS (Ad Size) 61 0 0.00%

6abc-news (Ad Size) 124 0 0.00%

6abc-interstitial (Ad Size) 2,298 0 0.00%

6abc-pencil* (Ad Size) 763 1 0.13%

6abc.com Total 3,579 1 0.03% $15,000.00 $15,000.00 $ 525.00 -96.50%

Remarketing - GDN google cpc 17 0 0.00% $ 2,000.00 $ - $ - -100.00%

Paid TacticsBest:

Total Conversions- 1. Paid Search (127)2. Pandora (4)

Total Sessions- 1. Google Display Network (12,186)2. Pandora (4,061)

Best CPCon- 1. Paid Search ($157.48)2. Pandora ($3,750.00)

Best ROI- 1. Paid Search (+233.38%)2. Pandora (-86.00%)

Worst:

Total Conversions- 1. Youtube, weather.com, accuweather.com, Remarketing – GDN (0)

Total Sessions- 1. Remarketing (17)2. Youtube (519)

Worst CPCon- 1. 6abc.com ($15,000)2. Google Display Network

($11,666.67)

Worst ROI- 1. Youtube, weather.com, accuweather.com, Remarketing – GDN (-100.00%)

Paid Tactics

% sessions from paid tactics= (25,780/34,408)*100= 74.9%

% conversions from paid tactics= (135/668)*100= 20.2%

AdWordsKeyword Clicks Cost CPC Sessions Bounce Rate Pages / Session Goal Conversion Rate Goal Completions

keystone help 90 $75.07 $0.83 108 37.96% 3.83 17.59% 19

energy works 94 $119.95 $1.28 129 37.98% 3.98 13.18% 17

energyworks philadelphia 6 $0.99 $0.16 38 36.84% 2.47 28.95% 11

energy works now 36 $8.46 $0.24 41 34.15% 3.34 17.07% 7

energy works philadelphia 36 $12.46 $0.35 71 53.52% 2.44 8.45% 6

energyworks 43 $72.74 $1.69 45 24.44% 4.58 13.33% 6

Recommendation:Invest more into the “energyworks Philadelphia” keyword. Although it was only number 3 in terms of number of goal completions (11), it had the lowest CPC ($0.16).

Plus, assuming their target audience lives within the Philadelphia city limits, this search term will be most relevant to them.

Assisted Conversions

Assisted Conversions

MCF Channel Grouping Campaign Assisted Conversions Last Click or Direct Conversions Assisted / Last Click or Direct Conversions

Paid Search Search - EW - Branded 50 53 0.94

Referral (not set) 46 40 1.15

Paid Search Search - Unbranded - Program 8 8 1

Paid Search Search - Unbranded - Benefits 4 1 4

Paid Search Search - Unbranded - Products 4 1 4

Paid Search Search+-+EW+-+Branded 4 2 2

Display Display - Realty 2 0 0

(Other) Finance 1 0 0

Social Network (not set) 1 0 0

(Other) LowInterest 0 2 0

Display Display - DIY 0 1 0

Display Display - Prominent 0 1 0

TOTALS 120 109 1.1

Recommendations

1. To accomplish macro goals (conversions), invest more money into Paid Search and Pandora.

• High ROI's Paid Search = +233.38%, Pandora = -86.00%

• Low CPCon Paid Search = $157.48, Pandora = $3,750.00

2. To accomplish micro goal (sessions), GDN and Pandora would be the best options.

• Google Display Network = 12,186• Pandora = 4,061

Recommendations (cont.)

3. Discontinue spending on Youtube, weather.com, accuweather.com, and Remarketing.

• Lowest number of conversions (0)• Worst ROI (-100.00%)