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Your Guide to Online Advertisin g

Your guide to online advertising

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A presentation to the Regina Chamber of Commerce B2B event. October 2013. Digital Media Strategist Rachel Giatras walks through the different online media options for small business and explains how and where to use online media effectively.

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Page 1: Your guide to online advertising

Your Guide to Online Advertising

Page 2: Your guide to online advertising

1. Canadian Online Landscape

2. Formats

3. Buying Exchanges

4. Targeting

5. Paid Search

6. Online Video

7. Paid Social Media

8. Cross-Platform: Devices

9. Google Analytics

10.Real-time Bidding

Page 3: Your guide to online advertising

+33 hrs/month

Page 4: Your guide to online advertising
Page 5: Your guide to online advertising

Cost-per …Huh?

Page 6: Your guide to online advertising

Buying FormatsCost per Thousand Impressions (CPM):

How much you will pay per thousand impressions of your ad.

1,000 = $20

Page 7: Your guide to online advertising

Buying Formats

Cost per Click (CPC):

A CPC is how much you will pay ever time your ad is clicked.

$3 x 100 clicks = $300

Page 8: Your guide to online advertising

Buying Formats

Cost per Engagement (CPE):

A CPE is how much you will pay when a designated engagement occurs.

$8 per roll over x 100 = $800

Page 9: Your guide to online advertising

Buying Formats

Cost per Acquisition (CPA):

A CPA is how much you will pay when a designated action is performed.

$12 per contact x 100 = $1,200

Page 10: Your guide to online advertising

Do I need the middleman?

Page 11: Your guide to online advertising

Direct Publisher Buying

Page 12: Your guide to online advertising

Direct Publisher Buying

• ROS – Run of Site: All categories

• Categorical – Ex: Sports Only

• CPM buying format

• The broader the buy, the less the CPM

• ROS – CPM: $12• Sports Only – CPM: $12 + 25%

premium = %15

Page 13: Your guide to online advertising

EX: “Referendum” – Direct Buy

Page 14: Your guide to online advertising

Niche Network Buying

• RON – Run of Network: All sites within their network• CPM Buying format

Page 15: Your guide to online advertising

Mass Network Buying

Page 16: Your guide to online advertising

Mass Network Buying• RON – Run of Network: All sites within their network

• ACTION RATES: CPC, CPE, and CPA buying formats • Enough impressions across sites to fulfill clicks• Less targeting capabilities

Page 17: Your guide to online advertising

EX: “Referendum” – CPM Network Banner Ads

Page 18: Your guide to online advertising

Mass Network Buying• ROC – Run of Channel: All sites within specific category

• CPM format• Ex: Financial Channel

• Behavioural Targeting – CPM (slide to follow)

Page 19: Your guide to online advertising

Self-served Platform Buying

• Interactive self-served platform – No human interaction to complete the buy

• CPM, CPC, and CPA formats

• Typically lower rates due to high volume of impression intake/user visit• Ex: Facebook - $0.62 CPM vs. CBC - $15 CPM• CBC – average visit = 6 impressions• Facebook – average visit = 75 impressions

Page 20: Your guide to online advertising

Hey you!

…yeah you.

Page 21: Your guide to online advertising

Geo-targeting

306 area code (IP)

Page 22: Your guide to online advertising

Weather-Triggered Targeting

• Ads shown only under certain weather conditions

• Triggered by:• Temperature• Precipitation• Humidex

• CPM format

Page 23: Your guide to online advertising

Behavioural Targeting

Page 24: Your guide to online advertising

Behavioural Targeting

• CPM – Mass network buying • Ex: RV Ads – RV consumer in Regina • Ads will run on sites indexed high against target

Page 25: Your guide to online advertising

Behavioural Targeting: RV Consumer

• But how do they know I’m an “Outdoor Enthusiast?” • Cookies capture user behaviour – algorithm dumps you into categories based on your habits• Ex: RV Trader > Kijiji – Boats > Facebook > Boat Trader > RV Trader > Gmail > Camping.com

Page 26: Your guide to online advertising

Behavioural Targeting: RV Consumer

Page 27: Your guide to online advertising

Why think when you can just Google it?

Page 28: Your guide to online advertising

Paid Search• Google Adwords – targeted keywords

Paid

Organic

Page 29: Your guide to online advertising

Benefits to Paid Search

• Reach people at the precise moment they’re searching for what you offer

• ***Control your budget• Self-served platform• CPC most popular format• Pay only when word is searched AND clicked

• You set daily budget; no minimum campaign spend

• See exactly what words are working or how ad is performing; adjust in real-time

Page 30: Your guide to online advertising

Best Practices to Paid Search

• Target ads to appropriate landing page

• Target ads based on user device and action

Page 31: Your guide to online advertising

EX: “Referendum” – “Vote No” group

Keyword ClicksImpressio

nsvote no 273 1071

sewage referendum 136 1140wastewater 117 1850

regina chamber of commerce 94 852

wastewater treatment 87 778wastewater treatment

plant 84 937treatment of wastewater 66 580

September 25 51 1673regina chamber 29 420

wastewater treatment plants 22 183

August 30th – September 25th

Page 32: Your guide to online advertising

Ex: “Referendum” – “Water Watch” group

Keyword ClicksImpressio

nsregina water watch 190 3400

watch the water 24 575p3 project 17 346

drinking water 13 2088water treatment 12 1727

water watch 10 194privatization of water 9 127

water systems 7 1311p3 model 4 77

watch water 1 239

August 30th – September 25th

Page 33: Your guide to online advertising

How do I get my ad to play before “Keyboard Cat?”

Page 34: Your guide to online advertising

Canada top in video engagement compared to world

390 Videos/mo

nth

Page 35: Your guide to online advertising

Canadian Video Demographic Breakdown

Page 36: Your guide to online advertising

Video Pre-roll

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Video Pre-roll

Page 38: Your guide to online advertising

Video Pre-roll• Use to build brand awareness or invoke emotion• 15-second and 30-second

• Budget Benefits • Ad can run through video online while competing with big brands like DODGE or OLD SPICE• Might not have budget to buy TV on TSN

• Direct Buys: TSN, LeaderPost, CTVRegina• Network Buys: Bell (CTV, TSN, BNN, Comedy) Shaw (Discovery, HGTV, Global)• Self-Served Buy: YouTube

Page 39: Your guide to online advertising

YouTube Video Pre-roll (Google)• ***Control your budget• Google Self-served platform• CPM most popular format• You set daily budget; no minimum campaign spend

• Targeting tools:• Age groups• Day parts (morning, evening, etc.)• Contextual (categories, videos relating to “x”)• Specific videos (Keyboard Cat)• Keywords searched (similar to google adwords)• Category bans (alcohol, gaming, 18+)

Page 40: Your guide to online advertising

I already got the facebook and the twitter – now pay for it?!?

Page 41: Your guide to online advertising

Paid Social Media – Benefits• ***Control your budget• Self-served platforms (Photo + Copy)• You set daily budget; no minimum campaign spend• CPM or CPC targeting• Extremely cost effective (EX: CPM - $0.45 - $1.09)

• Reach “Socializers” – less intrusive• Targeting tools:• Profile demographics: age, marital status, market (granular – Pilot Butte)• Interests listed somewhere on user profile

EX: Fishing, boats, #Camping

Page 42: Your guide to online advertising

Paid Social Media – Best Practices• Direct “socializers” to environment in which they’re in• EX: Facebook ad > Company Facebook page• Note – it’s still fine to redirect to your company website if

relevant

• Experiment!!!

Page 43: Your guide to online advertising

“Referendum” – Paid Social Media

Page 44: Your guide to online advertising

Gender Age % Impressions % of clickersF 18-24 18.30% 12.84%F 25-34 11.05% 8.11%F 35-44 7.75% 7.33%F 45-54 8.83% 9.20%F 55-64 9.42% 12.47%F 65-100 5.11% 6.81%F Unknown 0.65% 0.62%M 18-24 13.33% 10.92%M 25-34 8.03% 7.69%M 35-44 4.53% 6.81%M 45-54 4.08% 5.82%M 55-64 3.37% 5.67%M 65-100 1.74% 2.70%M Unknown 0.50% 0.42%

Highest % of impressions - ages 18-34

Highest % of clickers – skew

towards femalesAges 18-34 or

55-64

“Referendum” – Paid Facebook ads

Over 4.9 million impressions

servedOver 1,700

clicks

Page 45: Your guide to online advertising

Paid Social Media – LinkedIn • Social media channel to reach influential business people and affluent consumers

• Targeting tools:• Job Function• Education • Seniority• Company Name• Company Size

• Social media ads (Photo + Copy)• Sponsored Updates • Banner Ads & Direct Inbox messaging

Page 46: Your guide to online advertising

Canada’s a smartphone country

Page 47: Your guide to online advertising

Canadian Smartphone Mobile Subscribers

Page 48: Your guide to online advertising

Canadian Smartphone Mobile Subscribers

Page 49: Your guide to online advertising

Mobile Advertising

• Some same rules and basics apply for buying • Targeting• CPM Buying format• Ad formats (banners, video, adwords, social)• Direct, Network, Self-Serve

• Slight rule variations for mobile:• Easier-to-take-in messaging (less sophisticated)• Audience is usually on the go

• Direct users to a mobile-friendly landing page

Page 50: Your guide to online advertising

“Referendum” – Mobile ads

Page 51: Your guide to online advertising

Why have one, when you can have ‘em all?

Page 52: Your guide to online advertising

Cross-Platform Opportunities

Page 53: Your guide to online advertising

Cross-Platform Opportunities

• Work with key partners to develop multi-media and multi-screen experience

• Reach a wider audience in their preferred environment• Read the hard-copy Leader Post newspaper during morning coffee• Check updates on LeaderPost.com throughout the day on your work desktop (yes when you SHOULD be working)• Check out a breaking news notification sent to your mobile phone just before supper

Page 54: Your guide to online advertising

Device Preferences throughout the Day

Page 55: Your guide to online advertising

Regina Chamber of Commerce – Referendum Online Recap:• Banner ads:• Direct, Self-Served, Network

• Paid Facebook ads

• Paid Search – Google Adwords

• Mobile Ads

TOTAL CLICKS:

8,668TOTAL IMPRESSIONS:

8,151,908

Page 57: Your guide to online advertising

Google Analytics – Overview - Dashboard

Demographics

System

Mobile

Language

New vs. ReturnVisits, Unique Visitors, Page Views,

Pages/visit

Avg. Visit Duration, Bounce Rate, % New Visits

Page 58: Your guide to online advertising

Google Analytics – Other insights

• IT’S FREE! EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE THIS!• (or a version of analytics to gauge your campaigns)

•Traffic sources:• Paid online referrals• Search – Paid vs. Organic • Direct traffic

Page 59: Your guide to online advertising

Google Analytics – Trifon’s Example

Device % change – YOY: 2012 vs. 2013

Desktop +45.46%

Mobile +309.05%

Tablet +286.25%

TOTAL: +31.53%

Highest spikes on Fridays, followed by Saturdays

Page 60: Your guide to online advertising

Real-time Bidding

Page 61: Your guide to online advertising

RTB – Supply Side Platform (SSP):

Banner Ads

RTB Exchange

Room

Sell!Sell!Sell!

Video Ads

Mobile Ads

Page 62: Your guide to online advertising

RTB – Demand Side Platform (DSP):

RTB Exchange

RoomRegina

Males: 50-55

RV Intender

CPM - $5 max!!!

Village RV

Buy!Buy!Buy!

Page 63: Your guide to online advertising

RTB – Exchange Success

Sold! To the RV guy for $3.01 CPM! Sorry Dove, your

max $3 CPM didn’t cut it.

Page 64: Your guide to online advertising

Real-time Bidding - Benefits:

• data driven decisions

• smaller budgets can compete

• reduced media wastage

• Better targeting capabilities – accommodates moving targets

Ex: RTB sees Joe is looking for a job Hit Joe with “Jobs” ads

Once Joe gets hired, RTB sees he’s no longer a “job seeker”

Move on to next guy!

Page 65: Your guide to online advertising

Digital Media Inspired Halloween Costumes: