Measure your ROI via Google Analytics

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The main advantage of online advertising is to allow the measurement and deep analysis of the campaigns performance. Via the leading tool, Google Analytics, we will give you advices on how to better measure your ROI and (re)define your goals in terms of conversions. To make it concrete, we will use 3 kinds of business models.

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MEASURE YOUR ROI VIA GOOGLE ANALYTICS

3 BUSINESS MODEL CASES

Digital Marketing First – 17th October 2013

UNIVERSEM: UNIVERSE OF SEARCH ENGINE MARKETING

• Digital Marketing Agency

• Founded in 2010

• A team of 8 people

• References: RTL, Carrefour, UNICEF

B B

MEASURE/TRACKING

“ I know half my advertising isn't working, I just

don't know which half. ” William Lever

(1851-1925)

Before …

B B

MEASURE/TRACKING

Today …

Each click can be measured almost every mouse move!

Link spendings with revenues

And take action based on those information!

B B

DIGITAL MARKETING

Nobody is interested in simple visits

Start by setting goals!

Measure and optimize

ROI on the Long-term is the key

Attract visitors

Convert

Measure Optimize

Repeat business

MEASURE/TRACKING

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

Segment your visitors and calculate ROI

Identify the most profitable segments

+15% +5%

- 12% +20%

-10%

+40%

10,000 impressions

+30%

B B

MEASURE THE ROI

TRAFFIC SOURCES REVENUES ANALYSIS

Social Media

SEO

B B

IMPACT ON THE BOTTOM LINE !

Define website goals that we measure and configure

Contact Quote request Subscription to newsletter E-commerce transaction ...

Set the value for each of these goals!

B B

MEASURE THE ROI

• Value of a goal completion?

• Maximum cost per visit?

3 business model cases

All data given afterwards are taken as example

and do not correspond to the real values

B B

LEAD GENERATION: SOPRA BANKING SOFTWARE

B B

LEAD GENERATION: SOPRA BANKING SOFTWARE

Total value of customers = 500,000€ * 30% = 150,000€

50,000 Visits 500 Contact forms sent 10 Customers

Value per customer:

150,000/10 = 15,000€

Value per contact form sent:

150,000/500 = 300€

Value per visit: 150,000/50,000 =

3€

1% 2%

B Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

Configure the value of a goal completion Measure the ROI Discover most valuable traffic sources

Optimize the allocation of your marketing budgets Measure Return On Investments

LEAD GENERATION: SOPRA BANKING SOFTWARE

B

E-COMMERCE CASE: MEDIA MARKT

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

B

E-COMMERCE CASE: MEDIA MARKT

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

• Average order size: 50€

• Margin on each order: 30%

15 € margin per order

• Online Conversion rate: 3%

• How much can you pay per visit ?

50*0,3*0,03 = Maximum 0,45 €

ROI

B

SAAS BUSINESS CASE: MAILJET

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

SAAS BUSINESS CASE: MAILJET

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

Visits

Freemium users

Active users

Paying customers

Recurring customers

10%

50%

30%

70%

1000

100

50

15

10,5

The Conversion Funnel

SAAS BUSINESS CASE: MAILJET

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

Defining your maximum CPA, parameters:

Monthly Recurring Revenues (MRR): 50€

Gross margin: 75%

Churn rate: 3%

SAAS BUSINESS CASE: MAILJET

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

Lifetime value = MRR * Gross margin * 1

Churn rate

1

3%

Lifetime value = 50€ * 75% * = 1250€

We can pay up to 1250€ per new customer

TOOLBOX UNIVERSEM

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

http://toolbox.universem.be/

WEB ANALYTICS IN 3 STEPS

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

CONCLUSIONS

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads B

Determine the value of visitor’s actions

Measure and calculate your ROI depending on your business model

Invest where the ROI is the most profitable

CONTEST

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads

B

Contact Leave your business card in the box on our stand E23 and….

Win an Analytics Audit* !

*Worth: 800€

ANY QUESTIONS?

Facebook Ads LinkedIn Ads

B

Contact Sébastien François

Co-Founder & Digital Marketing consultant

+32 (0) 81 713 430

contact@universem.be

http://www.universem.be/DMF-2013.pdf