London Made by Lyamkina Yulia. London-is the capital of the United Kingdom

  • Published on

  • View

  • Download

Embed Size (px)


  • London

    Made by Lyamkina Yulia

  • London-is the capital of the United Kingdom

  • London is one of the world's most important business, financial, and cultural centres and its influence in politics, education, entertainment, media, fashion and the arts contributes to its status as a major global city

  • Greater London contains four World Heritage Sites: the Tower of London,the historic settlement of Greenwich; the Royal Botanic Gardens and the site comprising the Palace of Westminster, Westminster Abbey and St. Margaret's Church

  • The Tower of London

  • The Royal Botanic Garden

  • Westminster Abbey

  • St. Margaret's Church

  • London currently has a wide range of peoples, cultures, and religions, and over 300 languages are spoken within the city

  • The public transport network, administered by Transport for London, is one of the most extensive in the world, Heathrow Airport is the busiest airport in the world by international passenger traffic and the air space is the busiest of any city in the world.

  • Local government The administration of London is formed of two tiers a city-wide, strategic tier and a local tier. City-wide administration is coordinated by the Greater London Authority (GLA), while local administration is carried out by 33 smaller authorities.The GLA consists of two elected parts; the Mayor of London, who has executive powers, and the London Assembly,

  • City Hall is a home of the Greater London Authority

  • National government London is the home of the Government of the United Kingdom which is located around the Houses of Parliament in Westminster

  • Many government departments are located close to Parliament, particularly along Whitehall, including the Prime Minister's residence at 10 Downing Street

  • Status Within London, both the City of London and the City of Westminster have City status and both the City of London and the remainder of Greater London are the ceremonial counties

  • City of London