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Email marketing techniques, tips and strategies by Peter Abraham of Econsultancy.com. Econsultancy is a global independent community-based publisher, focused on best practice digital marketing and ecommerce. Their hub has 80,000+ members worldwide from clients, agencies and suppliers alike with over 90% member retention rate. They help their members build their internal capabilities via a combination of research reports and how-to guides, training and development, face-to-face conferences, forums and professional networking.
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10 February 2010
Peter AbrahamEconsultancy.com
iStrategy - Email Marketing
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Welcome Who are Econsultancy. 10 years old
Global independent community-based publisher, focused on best practice digital marketing and ecommerce.
80,000+ members worldwide
We help clients build their internal capabilities via a combination of research, reports and how-to guides, training etc.
Our members make better decisions, build business cases, find the best suppliers, accelerate their careers and lead the way in best practices and innovation.
More here: http://econsultancy.com.
*Don’t forget your free copy of our Managing Digital Channels report| 3
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Today - Three sections...
1. Your Email Marketing capabilities and a plan to excellence.
2. Email Marketing budget allocation and ROI, how they compare to other media.
3. Challenges that affect email marketing success and some thoughts on improving.
Interactive.| 3
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
• People are used to it - use it every day• Adaptable to all stages in lifecycle• Cuts costs – direct mail, telemarketing• Offers short time to market• Short test to roll cycles• Infinitely personalisable• Delivers best Return on Investment...
• Agree?
Why is Email still hot?
| 6
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ROI of Digital Channels
| 134Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Who killed email? - Wall St Journal...
| 6
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
• R
Who killed email?
| 6
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Email has a widely-aged audience?
| 137
Source:
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
• RSS? - hasn’t gone mass market• SMS? - no links• Twitter - maybe? But we’re still on the
adoption curve• Social networks? - maybe? still rely on
email• iPhone apps? - maybe? When the walls
come down
• So actually Email is alive and well!• It’s why you’re here isn’t it?
Who killed email?
| 6
Integrate this stuff with your email
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing
1. Your Email Marketing capabilities and a plan to excellence
| 5
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Email staged capability matrix.Where are you on here?
1 2 3 4 5
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Your email capabilities...
| 134
Source: Econsultancy Email Marketing Best Practice Guide
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Your email capabilities...
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing
2. Email Marketing budget allocation and ROI, how they compare to other media.
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10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
• Email Marketing Calculator - calculate the value of your email database
• http://www.emailcenteruk.com/email-marketing-knowledge/calculator.php
What’s an Email address worth to your business? Do you know?
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10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Spend on Email Marketing
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ROI of Digital Channels
| 134Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ROI of Digital Channels
| 134Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ROI of EMail
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Spend on Email Marketing
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Budgets are moving from print to online - how much are you grabbing?
| 6
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Conversion model for email response
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing
3. Challenges that affect email marketing success... ...and thoughts on how to improve them - back to basics...
| 5
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Who said email was easy? It’s taken 20yrs!
| 134
Source: The Email Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Concentrate on three things... Deliverability, measurement and monitoring! Good old fashioned marketing.
• If it gets delivered your half way home.
• If you’re measuring you’ll see trends and patterns
• If you’re monitoring you’ll know when to change tact
| 45
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
What do YOU want ME to do as a customer? - Go to the website or other medium? - Register? - Buy stuff? - Turn up again soon? - Give you some feedback? - Keep the relationship alive? - Keep coming back? - Recommend you?
- Keep coming back - in person and online!| 108
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Where do you need focus?
| 137Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Sending less - better targeted?
| 137
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Getting your message delivered
I
| 137
Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Improve Reputation Management - Clean your Data and up your ROI!
- Remove bounces
- Removes complainers
- Remove un-subscribes
- Your list gets smaller but the returns will be better
| 144
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
A
A
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Does it need to be image rich?No images required, just the facts
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Would you prefer text…as part of registration process?
| 135
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Here’s a Blacklist checker…
| 150
Source: http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx
Or get your Email provider to do it.
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Self service - Adjust number of messages/alerts received
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Self service - announce other channels available
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
More self service...reminders
| 20
Gives you an excuse to bring them back
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Alert me when in stock
| 66
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Clear navigation - don’t make me think - assists customer journey
Good analytical insight - feedback
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
If your product is complex...assist! 7 days of free training by email...Day 7
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Landin page - Lazy marketing...you know me!!
| 115
So pre-fill please - don’t make me think
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Triggered
| 134
• Use Behavioural data
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
What did I ask you again?Repeat back what the user asked...
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Freemium model? Up click rates
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
Test factorsNew Origin subscribers•Test group slit 50/50 AB - 50 to receive the "add to address book"•Each subscriber remained in test group for three months after sign-up
Hang on...say...4.5%x AOV £25x 2,000= £50k Wow!
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Simple changes...
| 134
Source: Experian Cheetahmail Case study
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
ReMarketing
| 134
•30% of UK shoppers admit that they would go back online and complete their purchases if something as simple as a small discount or free postage and packing was offered to them
Test factorsFollow-up emails to registered customers who abandon their shopping basketReminder emails about an existing shopping basketFollow-up emails to registered customers that received a system error during checkoutTargeted promotions based on an item a visitor browsedIncentive promotions for out-of-stock or back-ordered items
Source: Experian Case study
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Free Shipping = Higher transactions
| 134
But it doesn’t have to be a small purchase! Bigger bundles.
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Free Shipping = Higher transactions
| 134
Some of the best-performing campaigns are sent to small, highly targeted segments of subscribers, with both the product and free shipping offers geared to the selected audienceAND The use of dynamic content to automatically populate the most relevant product images and copy also can significantly strengthen this tactic and make it easier to employ.
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile - your email list just got bigger.
| 134
•Email usage on mobile devices has nearly doubled since 2004 according to AOL, and the Email Experience Council predicts that 60% of emails will be read outside of the inbox by 2009.
•To cater to this rising demographic, create a text-only version of each email you send this year and link to it at the very top of the template, above any logos or images. Accompany this link with copy such as, “Viewing on a PDA? Click here to view this email in text.”
Source: Cheetahmail Case study
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile - sms alert in email
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile and Social - drive traffic
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Make life easier for them and you...
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Announcements - Offers to your mobile
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
Just because it’s email doesn’t mean you should forget all those other channels - conversion is your goal!It’s all about Joined up marketing.
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile and Social
| 134
Source: http://stylecampaign.com/
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Local personalisation
| 134
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Email and crowd sourcing
| 134
• Email assists product marketing
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Demonstrate functionality - search
| 134
• From the ‘don’t make me think’ school of marketing
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile and Social
| 134
• Use keyword insight from onsite and search engine searches to assist purchasing.
• Use Analytics to provide popular categories
• Feed back email to site customer experience team
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Mobile and Social = Kickstart Viral
| 134
Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Multi-channel
| 134Source: Cheetahmail Case study
Source: Cheetahmail Case study
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Multi-channel - TV & Email
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Dual landing pages
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Different landing pages
| 134
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
How many calls to action?Think! What do you want them to do?
| 134
Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Plenty of data...
Registration Data
Transactional Data
Click-stream data
Do more analysis!
| 19
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Be Strategic. have an email testing programme
Q1 tests
Registration incentives
From Fields
Subject Lines
Q2 tests
Frequency testing
Personalisation
Price tests
Q3 tests
Automated campaigns
Re-activation strategies
Q4 tests
Segmentation models
Churn analysis
New format
| 52
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Forget about averages.You are where you are. You can’t beat your own data.
- Last campaign is benchmark
- Keep testing
- Keep measuring
| 28
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Email as Business Intelligence
| 6
• These guys monitor email campaigns from across the US...and now twitter too
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
It’s all about seeing the bigger picture…
There are only a few critical areas to measure
- Segmentation size! - Open rate - Click-through rate - Conversion Rate - Average Order Value!
| 113
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Summary
- Deliverability, measurement & monitoring and testing are critical to ROI!
- Know the true value of your data, if your Email has the highest ROI, go for more budget
- Have a plan to excellence. Keep learning and assess that learning as the discipline evolves - people with skills are key, technology is only an enabler! Remember 90/10
| 152
10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing
Thanks for your time
...why not Email your questions to me: [email protected]
For good resources - check the sources or drop me an email.
Econsultancy is a global independent community-based publisher, focused on best practice digital marketing and ecommerce. Our hub has 80,000+ members worldwide from clients, agencies and suppliers alike with over 90% member retention rate. We help our members build their internal capabilities via a combination of research reports and how-to guides, training and development, face-to-face conferences, forums and professional networking.
For the last 10 years, our resources have helped members learn, make better decisions, build business cases, find the best suppliers, accelerate their careers and lead the way in best practices and innovation.
Join Econsultancy today at http://econsultancy.com.
| 154