TargetSummit Moscow Late 2016 | Maps.me, Evgeny Lisovskiy

Preview:

Citation preview

Eugene LisovskiyCEO

MAPS.ME

How To Market The Product Worldwide?

Agenda

❖ MAPS.ME & OpenStreetMap.org

❖ Team, KPIs & Management

❖ Business Model

❖ Product

❖ Marketing

MAPS.ME storyFounded in 2011 by ex Google Developer from BelarusApp was monetizing on freemium basis: $5 for pro version. After acquisition app was made free of charge to boost the growth and focus on the product quality.

Aquired by Mail.ru Group in October 2014App was earning about $1M a year before the acquisition.

#1 OSM Based MapOSM = OpenStreetMap.org - open maps community (Wikipedia in maps).

#1 Map in Travel Category in 154 countries

Key Features: completely offline, fast, easy-to-use.

5x DAU/MAU Growth in 2015

OCT NOV DEC JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP

Became Free

$5 for Pro

63%

37%

Open Maps

50MDOWNLOADS

TOP Free Travel AppIn more than 60 countries

Android

iOS

10M – Monthly Active Users

OSM Boosted by MAPS.ME

+33% DAU Growth +61% MAU Growth

Team

❖ Build a strong team

❖ Love what you do

❖ Act like you’re a founder

❖ Inspire the team

❖ Get rid of weak guys

Management

❖ KPI based bonus program

❖ Weekly Status Check

❖ Work Hard

❖ Friend Cap <> Boss Cap

❖ Go Deep in details

Management

бонусы

Business Model

1. Deep Market Research

2. 3Y Strategy, 1Y Product Plan

3. Acquisition Forecast (CTR/CPC/CPI/eCPI)

4. Retention Forecast (D/W/M Return Rate)

5. ARPU Forecast (CLT/LTV, install = user)

6. Business Model Corrections

Deep Market Research

Deep Market Research

Deep Market Research

Product

❖ Stay Focused

❖ Retention is the key

❖ Keep in Mind a “Time to Market”

❖ Go deep in analytics

❖ Collect users feedback

Retention: 1W Return Rate Growth

+61%

+24%

Small Maps + Editor + Search

+17%

+33%

+36%+32%

Marketing

Marketing

❖ Test > Analyse > Scale

❖ Always calculate assumptions

❖ Split by Country

❖ Prioritize by ( GDPpc * Return Rate ) / CPI

❖ Do not ignore mobile web traffic

Marketing

Smart acquisition =

= ( GDPpc * Return Rate ) / CPI

Marketing

CRClicks

CPC

= $0.05

CR

= 20%

Installs / Leads

CPI (CPL)

= CPC/CR= $0.05/0.2

= $0,25

OrdersTR

CPB

= CPI/TR= $0.25/0.1

= $2.5

TR

= 10%

Impessions CTR

CPM/eCPM

= $1.0

CTR

= 2%

Attractive creatives,

deals/offers, segmentation,

targeting, SEO.

Product, UX, A/B tests, ASO,

pictures, video, copywriting,

pre-checkout.

Direct marketing, push, reanimation,

retargeting, post-checkout.

ADsLanding Pages Goods

Want Some More?

LISOVSKIY.ru/EDU

Recommended